Art By Karishma

my adventures in art

Muse Messages February 18, 2008

Filed under: Art — jhukarishma @ 3:21 pm

I think my muse is trying to tell me something.

As you can see from my previous posts, I work mostly in paper – altered books, ATCs, some collages, etc.

Something I’ve never worked on or even thought about working on is canvas.  It seemed too “high art” for simple old me.

But today I was poring through an old Dick blick’s catalog and saw they had multi-packs of mini-canvases for sale.  This was inspiring – I like working in small formats and restricted spaces.  I also like working in multiples or series.

Then, someone in one of the Yahoo groups posted about a project they had just completed.  They’d made a mixed media piece on a corner canvas – but they used it backwards so the  sloped sides became part of the artwork.  Beautiful work, and very creative use for something that is generally used in very traditional work.

A few hours later, someone in another Yahoo group posted about a project she had just completed – a mixed media piece using the back of a canvas!  http://greenwomandesign.blogspot.com/2008/02/tintypes-and-daytona-500.html 

So, I went from not thinking about canvas as a possible medium at all to seeing it in 3 different places within a few hours.  And not only that, but 2 of the 3 places talked about flipping it around and using it as a pseudoframe.

That’s the kind of coincidence that means I must try my hand at something like this soon.  If that’s not a message from my muse, I don’t think I’d be able to ID one if it hit me over the head!

 

2 Responses to “Muse Messages”

  1. That is too co-incidental to be ignored!! Please let me know what you do with your backwards canvas. I would really like to see it.
    I really liked the oval green tag you made, almost looked leathery.
    Mary

  2. Amy Says:

    I love working with canvas- so many possibilities beyond just painting on it. It’s always great to try something new and challenge yourself a bit… Thanks for posting the link to the piece using the back of the canvas. Very interesting work!


Leave a Reply

